I have been given the opportunity to do some reviews on some books from a few different publishers. Some of them do not quite fit into the focus I have for Living Infuzion, but obviously have some good information. Here are some of my perspectives on some pretty good books! Enjoy!

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Handbook on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament

Publisher’s Summary:
This concise guide by a leading New Testament scholar helps readers understand how to better study the multitude of Old Testament references in the New Testament. G. K. Beale, coeditor of the bestselling Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament, focuses on the "how to" of interpreting the New Testament use of the Old Testament, providing students and pastors with many of the insights and categories necessary for them to do their own exegesis. Brief enough to be accessible yet thorough enough to be useful, this handbook will be a trusted guide for all students of the Bible.

My Review:
This book is an excellent reference book on a very interesting topic.  It is definitely written for the scholarly minded reader.  As someone that is quite versed in Biblical Studies, I found this book a bit over my head at points.  Two topics that I thought were very important, that were covered in the book were proper interpretation techniques, as well as the Jewish culture that shapes much of the Biblical landscape.  In many modern writings, the interpretation of Scripture is very loose.  It is good to read books where the scholarship is done, and the time and culture of the ancient texts are taken into account.

Book has been provided courtesy of Graf-Martin Communications and Baker Academic Books in exchange for an honest review.

Monday, November 26, 2012

Enough!

Synopsis from Book:
The American way of life pushes people to constantly strive for more--more money, more stuff, more clout. But how much is enough? And how do we know when we have too much of a good thing? In this provocative, paradigm-shifting book, Will Davis Jr. challenges readers to discover the peace that comes through contentment with what we have and compassion for those in need. Through surprising statistics, scriptural insight, and real-life stories, Davis gently leads readers to consider living with less in order to do more for the kingdom. Thought-provoking discussion questions and short chapters make this a perfect study for small groups.No one will come away from this powerful book unchanged.

My Review:
I have read a few of these kinds of books lately, and really even in Canada we are also impacted by this attitude of getting more and more.  This book really emphasizes how we really do have enough.  It compares the lives of people in western culture to those in very poor cultures.  It draws out the examples of people that are generous even when they truly have nothing.  The book was challenging, and made me sit and evaluate my own life.  It helped me try to make some adjustments to the priorities in my life.  Where do I spend my money?  What do I truly need?  How can I honour God in my spending?

Book has been provided courtesy of Graf-Martin Communications and Revell Books in exchange for an honest review.

Monday, November 12, 2012

The Measure of our Success: An Impassioned Plea to Pastors – written by Shawn Lovejoy.

Publisher’s Synopsis

How do pastors measure success? Is it through the number of people who fill the pews on Sunday morning? Is it tied to programs, building projects, salary, or book deals? Is it about how much technology they use or what their worship band sounds like? Shawn Lovejoy has seen all of these measures of success lead pastors toward pride, self-reliance, loneliness, isolation, exhaustion, and, in the most extreme cases, self-destruction.

In this honest and encouraging book, he calls pastors back to the "main thing"--the call to love people and make disciples--and to measure their success the way God does. Using Scripture, personal examples, and case studies, Lovejoy gently leads pastors back to their first love, and in doing so he leads them toward a more effective and joy-filled ministry.- read less

My Review

Having grown up in the church, and been in a family that was part of the leadership structure, I have seen the way “success” in the church has been measured, both good ways and bad. In this book, Pastor Lovejoy brings people back to looking at people and the impact of the Gospel on their lives, and moving people around some of the stumbling blocks of measuring based on attendance and financial partners. This book is challenging to pastors of small churches as they struggle to make it, as well as to pastors of large churches content to ride on their numbers and money.

Book has been provided courtesy of Graf-Martin Communications and Baker Books in exchange for an honest review.

Monday, November 5, 2012

No Safe Harbor - Elizabeth Ludwig

"Cara Hamilton had thought her brother to be dead. Now, clutching his letter, she leaves Ireland for America, desperate to find him. Her search leads her to a houseful of curious strangers, and one man who claims to be a friend--Rourke Walsh. Despite her brother's warning, Cara trusts Rourke, revealing her purpose in coming to New York.  She's then thrust into a world of subterfuge, veiled threats, and attempted murder, including political revolutionaries from the homeland out for revenge. Her questions guide her ever nearer to locating her brother--but they also bring her closer to destruction as those who want to kill him track her footsteps.  With her faith in tatters, all hope flees. Will her brother finally surface? Can he save Cara from the truth about Rourke... a man she's grown to love?" (Publisher's Description)
 
From the opening pages of the book where Cara is on board the ship Servia, my heart was totally invested in Cara and her search for her brother.  In a new land, unsure of who to trust, she meets Rourke, who has reasons of his won for helping her.  The dance they do of keeping secrets and trying to be loyal to family is heartbreaking.  The author does an amazing job of describing the sights and sounds of turn of the century New York City.   I loved how the story unfolded and kept me glue to the book right until the very end.  I anxiously await the next installment in this series.
 
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Full Disclosure - Dee Henderson

"Ann Silver is a cop's cop. As the Midwest Homicide Investigator, she is called in to help local law enforcement on the worst of cases, looking for answers to murder. Hers is one of the region's most trusted investigative positions.  Paul Falcon is the FBI's top murder cop in the Midwest. If the victim carried a federal badge or had a security clearance, odds are good Paul and his team see the case file or work the murder.  Their lives intersect when Ann arrives to pass a case off her desk and onto his. A car wreck and a suspicious death offer a lead on a hired shooter he is tracking. Paul isn't expecting to meet someone, the kind that goes on the personal side of the ledger, but Ann Silver has his attention.  The better he gets to know her, the more Paul realizes her job barely scratches the surface of who she is. She knows spies and soldiers and U.S. Marshals, and has written books about them. She is friends with the former vice president. People with good reason to be cautious about who they let into their lives deeply trust her. Paul wonders just what secrets Ann is keeping, until she shows him the John Doe Killer case file, and he starts to realize just who this lady he is falling in love with really is...."  (Publisher's Description)
 
Dee Henderson's novel, True Devotion, was my first foray into christian fiction and I loved all of her books after that one; so when I heard that she was writing a new book after a long hiatus I was extremely excited to read it.  When I received it in the mail I started reading it that day and honestly had a hard time putting it down.  I enjoyed how the whole plot with the lady shooter doesn't end until the very final chapter with a twist that even I didn't see coming.  The relationship between Ann and Paul grows very naturally and doesn't come across as forced.  Paul pursues Ann even when she tries to throw up roadblock after roadblock.   I loved the little nod to Dee's previous book characters woven throughout as people Ann wrote about.  (It has made me want to go back and get reacquainted with them!)   I highly recommend this book to other readers, as well as suggesting to go check out all of Dee's other books.  I cannot wait for another book from her!!
 
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.  Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group. 

Thursday, October 4, 2012

What A Difference A Mom Makes - Dr. Kevin Leman

"Boys will be boys--always. And no one has a more powerful impact on them than you, Mom.  Surprise! Your boy wants to please you, and he cares deeply about what you think. Those driving needs will stay with him throughout his lifetime. That gives you, Mom, a lot of influence over your son. You can set him up for success in life.  In What a Difference a Mom Makes, the New York Times bestselling author Dr. Kevin Leman reveals how you can make a positive imprint on your son--from the moment you first hold him in your arms until the moment he leaves for college. And the best news? It's never too late to start, no matter what age your son is now.  Through Dr. Leman's expert advice, you'll understand who your son is on the inside, the truth behind sibling squabbles (and how to handle them), a secret for discipline that works every time, and how to navigate the critical teen years. You'll also discover how your parenting style impacts your relationship with your son and how you can respond in a healthy way to his growing interest in sex and relationships.  Want to capture your boy's heart? Want a man you'll be proud to call your son? You can make a difference, because you are the one who matters most in your boy's worldEven if he won't admit it."

Out of all of the books I chose to review in September, this was the one I was looking forward to the most.  As a mother to two sons aged 5 and almost 7, I was immediately drawn to this book just upon reading the description.  My sons own my heart, and yet sometimes I have questioned whether I am making an impact into their lives.  My eyes were opened after reading this book concerning just how much my sons need me, even if it doesn't seem like it.  Ever since reading this book, I have noticed the little things that each of them do where they are subtly looking for my approval.  Things that I use to just brush off as nothing, I now see in a completely different life.  It was an eye opener to me when Dr.Leman talked about how my relationship with my boys has an impact on the choice of my future daughter-in-laws! 
I plan on reading this book again, even slower this time, to make sure I catch every little tidbit.  Then I plan on passing it around to all my friends with sons.  My husband was even so impressed with the stuff I was telling him about the book that he wants to read it.  He also wants to pick up the book Dr. Leman wrote concerning daughters and fathers so he can improve his relationship with out little girl!  I highly recommend this book to any mother out there who has a son.  It will change the way you parent them.  It's never too late!

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

With Every Letter - Sarah Sundin

" Lt. Mellie Blake is looking forward to beginning her training as a flight nurse. She is not looking forward to writing a letter to a man she's never met--even if it is anonymous and part of a morale-building program. Lt. Tom MacGilliver, an officer stationed in North Africa, welcomes the idea of an anonymous correspondence--he's been trying to escape his infamous name for years.  As their letters crisscross the Atlantic, Tom and Mellie develop a unique friendship despite not knowing the other's true identity. When both are transferred to Algeria, the two are poised to meet face-to-face for the first time. Will they overcome their fears and reveal who they are, or will their future be held hostage by their pasts?  Combining a flair for romance with excellent research and attention to detail, Sarah Sundin vividly brings to life the perilous challenges of WWII aviation, nursing--and true love."

I am a fan of WWII fiction, and this did not disappoint.  I enjoyed reading this book immensely.  The attention to detail and facts was wonderful.  I enjoyed all of Mellie and Tom's letter writing.  I have a new admiration for flight nurses from WWII. The twists and turns kept me hooked right up to the end which did not disappoint.  I will definitely be going back and looking at a few more of Sarah Sundin's books!

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Love`s Reckoning - Laura Frantz

"On a bitter December day in 1784, Silas Ballantyne arrives at the door of blacksmith Liege Lee in York County, Pennsylvania. Silas is determined to finish his apprenticeship quickly and move west. But because he is a fast worker and a superb craftsman, Liege endeavors to keep him in York by appealing to an old tradition: the apprentice shall marry one of his master's beautiful daughters.
Eden is as gentle and fresh as Elspeth is high-spirited and cunning. But are they truly who they appear to be? In a house laced with secrets, each sister seeks to secure her future. Which one will claim Silas's heart--and will he agree to Liege's arrangement? In this sweeping family saga, one man's choices in love and work, in friends and enemies, set the stage for generations to come. This is the Ballantyne Legacy."

This book was such a great read.  It was very hard for me to put it down.  Eden is such a wonderful women who longs to do the things that God calls her.  She is so caring and selfless that she is often taken advantage of by some pretty cruel people in her life.  Her father and her sister.  I have never really despised people in novels, but I found myself at points becoming very angry with both of these characters. Especially the selfish, manipulative sister, Elspeth.  Silas is such an honorable man and a perfect match for Eden.  Together, with God, they work to overcome the struggles in there lives.  There is also an excerpt from the next novel in the series, and I cannot wait to see where it goes. 


"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

The Bridesmaid - Beverly Lewis

"Twenty-seven-year-old Joanna Kurtz has made several trips to the altar, but never as a bride. The single young Amishwoman is a closet writer with a longing to be published--something practically unheard of in her Lancaster County community. Yet Joanna's stories aren't her only secret. She also has a beau who is courting her from afar, unbeknownst even to her sister, Cora, who, though younger, seems to have suitors to spare. Eben Troyer is a responsible young Amishman who hopes to make Joanna Kurtz his bride--if he can ever leave his parents' farm in Shipshewana, Indiana. Yet with his only brother off in the English world, intent on a military career, Eben's hopes for building a life with his dear Joanna are dimming, and patience is wearing thin. Will Joanna ever be more than a bridesmaid?"

The Bridesmaid is the second book in Beverly Lewis' trilogy Home to Hickory Hollow series, but is could also be read as a stand alone.  Mrs. Lewis is one of my favorite authors and I have enjoyed every book I have read by her.  I love how vivid her descriptions of the settings are.  It makes you feel like you are right there in Hickory Hollow.  Joanna is a wonderfully written character.  Her heartbreak over her relationship with Eben made me tear up at points.  I loved how even in the midst of not understanding, she placed her full trust in the Lord, even going as far as laying out a "fleece" before Him.  (I won't give it away, but I loved that little side story in the novel.) Eben's dedication to his family is noble and heart wrenching all at the same time.  I would highly recommend this book and cannot wait for Mrs. Lewis' next one!

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Monday, September 24, 2012

Tough Guys and Drama Queens by Mark Gregston

I can remember when I was in my teen years and on weekdays it was time to get ready for school.  My mom would come into my room and turn on the lights and open the windows to let the light in.  It would always disturb me enough to wake me up.  That is the same kind of feeling that I got in reading the book “Tough Guys and Drama Queens” by Mark Gregston.

As a parent with a son on the verge of coming into the ‘Tween years, I read this book at just the right time.  It should serve as a wake-up call to all parents.  The thinking of young people and how the culture teaches them to think has changed.  It really is our responsibility of us as parents to lead our kids, and teach them… not try to be their friend too.

Gregston creates an analogy about a young person learning to play baseball.  They stand at the plate with their bat in hand over their shoulder.  One would expect the first pitch to be something mild, and controlled… something experience appropriate.  Instead the first pitch consists of several baseballs flying at their head.  The young person is left swinging desperately at the targets, and is left confused and frustrated. 

The book draws on several stories of young people from Gregston’s experience as a counsellor and focuses on some key areas.  They are (1) What’s So Different About Today’s Culture?  (2) Parenting Practices to Avoid (3) Parenting Practices That Really Work.

In the first section Gregston goes through some of the major differences that he has observed.  He talks about how there is an overexposure to everything, how young people have increased communication, but are more disconnected than ever.  He also discusses their changing world from divorced parents, and shifts in relationships, and how this lack of stability can impact them in their development.

Section two focuses on some of the things that parents may do to try to force their young person into doing the right thing, while Section three focuses on an offshoot from earlier in the book.  Parents need to help their young person begin to make decisions that are correct, but help them get there with their own reasoning.  

This was such a great book, and really should be part of a training manual for parents. 
I was provided a copy for review by BookSneeze.  I was free to review the book as I saw it.   

Monday, September 3, 2012

Whispers in the Wind - Lauraine Snelling

"After fleeing North Dakota and the now defunct Wild West Show, Cassie Lockwood and her companions have finally found the hidden valley in South Dakota where her father had dreamed of putting down roots. But to her dismay, she discovers a ranch already built on her land.  Cassie's arrival surprises Mavis Engstrom and forces her to reveal secrets she's kept hidden for years. Her son Ransom is suspicious of Cassie and questions the validity of her claim to the valley. But younger son Lucas decides from the start that he is in love with her and wants to marry her.  Will Cassie be able to build a home on the Bar E Ranch and fulfill her father's dream of raising horses, or will she be forced to return to the itinerant life of her past?" (Publisher's description)

This is my first novel by Lauraine Snelling and I was not disappointed.  I didn't realize until I got it that it was the second book in the Wild Wild West series, so I was a little apprehensive that I would be completely lost.  I was pleasantly surprised.  Mrs. Snelling did an amazing job at having enough clues about what had occurred in the previous novel that I did not feel lost at all.  I loved the strength that Cassie has.  I also enjoyed the mentoring relationship that Cassie had with Mavis.  I will definitely be going to my local christian bookstore to pick up the first book so I can see where the whole story of Cassie began!
 
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group. 

Mary Magdalene - Diana Wallis Taylor

One woman desperate for hope. One Savior with the power to heal.  A beautiful girl blossoming into womanhood, Mary has high hopes for a life filled with learning, family, and young love. In one dreadful night, all of that changes. The nightmares come first, then the waking visions of unspeakable terror, until Mary hardly remembers her dreams for the future.  Can the Most High deliver her from this torment? How long must she wait for healing? (publisher's description)

This book was easy to read because it was incredibly impossible to put down. The story of Mary Magdalene is beautifully woven and draws the reader completely in.  For me it brought so many things that I have read in the bible to life.   Some of my favorite parts of the book were the interactions Mary had with Jesus when she was healed and when she was the first to see Him at the tomb. I highly recommend this book for everyone who loves biblical fiction but I would advise to have a box of Kleenex on hand!
 
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group"

Sunday, September 2, 2012

To Love and Cherish - Tracie Peterson and Judith Miller

"Melinda Colson has been waiting months for Evan, the assistant gamekeeper at the Bridal Veil Island resort, to propose. Without an offer of marriage, she must return to Cleveland with the family she works for as a lady's maid.  Evan isn't afraid of hard work, and he hopes to be promoted soon. He wants to marry Melinda--but not until he's sure he can support her and a family.  Letters strengthen their romance until a devastating storm strikes the island. With no word from Evan, Melinda knows she must journey back to Bridal Veil in search of her beloved.  But the hurricane isn't the last calamity to shake up Bridal Veil. Melinda finds a new job on the island, but still no offer of marriage comes her way. Has she given her heart to the wrong person? Will she ever find a man to love and cherish?" (Publisher's Description)

This is the second book in the Bridal Veil series, but it can easily be read as a stand alone. I really enjoyed reading this book.  Melinda is impatient and impetuous and often acts before thinking things completely through.  Evan is more practical, desiring to be able to provide for them before asking Melinda to marry him.  There are also a few other subplots that add a fullness to a wonderfully written story.  The descriptions of the island were so captivating that I could almost picture it.  I cannot wait for the final book in the series!

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group". 

Friday, August 3, 2012

7 Truths That Changed the World – By Kenneth Richard Samples

I saw this one, and I was reminded of a book I read several years ago called “7 Men Who Rule the World from the Grave”, and I thought this sounded like a similar kind of book, so I requested it.  I got the book in the mail and then read the sub-title: Discovering Christianity’s Most Dangerous Ideas.  Very Intriguing!

This is a book about defense of the Bible, but more importantly how 7 key ideas of the Christian faith have impacted our culture and how they continue to impact our culture.  As someone that has been into apologetics for a long time, I saw some similarities to books I have read in the past, but Samples takes the ideas of common use, and then adds new insight into them based on objections coming out of the current culture.  One example is the Lord, Liar or Lunatic argument made famous by some of the greats.  Samples takes this argument and provides some other options to list, and then (of course) refutes the objection.

Some of his “Dangerous Ideas” are:
·         Not all dead men stay dead - where he addresses the importance of the resurrection of Christ.
·         God walked on earth - where he looks at the implications of Jesus being fully God and fully human.
·         A fine-tuned Cosmos with a beginning – where he looks at the idea of the creation of an intelligent God.

He also addresses some of the ideas of atheism, moral right and wrong, how people are different in creation, and (probably the most common objection I have run into), and why is there suffering in the world?

Because of its well-structured layers, this book is excellent for the beginning apologist, or a person with doubts in their faith, but it is also a good reference for the Christian used to dealing in these topics.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Baker Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Miracles - A Book by Tim Stafford

“Miracles” By Tim Stafford is an in depth, journalistic analysis of the idea of miracles.  Tim Stafford is a journalist, so he takes things with the natural skepticism that comes with that occupation.  He leads with a story of a young man that he knows, that has had a healing take place that appears to have no explanation except that it is a miracle from God.  The author goes through a few of these anecdotes from different places.  He notes some who have gone to be prayed for, but have not been healed.  He notes some that have been disappointed by the way they were prayed for in a healing service, only to be discouraged when they are declared healed for the crowd, but are not healed.  He notes some of the claims from some ministries of healings, but that there is no way to follow up with some of the stories.

Stafford also digs into the Bible and goes through some analysis of miracles from the Old Testament, and some from the life of Jesus, and then some from the book of Acts.  He notes how there is a point in the book of Acts where there are no more miracles described, but he also notes that some who would say the gifts are not for today, that the Bible says that when we see face to face the risen Lord for ourselves, that THEN the gifts will pass away.

One of the points noted in the book is that there are miracles in the Bible, and there are miracles claimed to have happened today.  What about all of the stuff that went on between the Bible and today?  Were there still Christians living all through history?  What can we learn from them?  In this section he goes on to try to help with being a bit of a skeptic when it comes to history.  There are several miracles mentioned all throughout church history, but can the testimony be supported by other sources?  Or is this just something that is the stuff of legends?

As someone that grew up in the Pentecostal tradition, it was interesting to see this issue from the perspective of someone familiar with the charismatic/Pentecostal church, but that is more of a person looking into denomination, and that has occasionally participated in the services.  I found his observations interesting.  He takes it from the Pentecostal movement at its roots at Azusa Street, to the Pentecostal movement across America, to the Pentecostal movement as it is across the world.  Very interesting section.

He closes out the book examining some questions about science and miracles how the two are compatible.

When evaluating miracles, he notes, that it is not just the Christian faith that claims to have miracles either, so those should not be the end all and be all of where God is.  The real focus must remain on Jesus Christ, and his work at the cross.

This was a very thoughtful read.  I recommend it.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

There’s Hope for Your Church – By Gary L. McIntosh

With all of the ‘adjustments’ to the economy in both the US and Canada, and also with the subtle to aggressive attacks on the church a LOT of ministries are shifting and changing and even failing.  Gary McIntosh has a book of ways that those in ministry can perform a health check on their ministry, and if they find areas where there is a deficiency, they can evaluate them, and have some strategies as to how to move forward. 

McIntosh uses some case studies from churches he has worked with, and some of the situations are very tough ones…. Desperate.  He discusses the issues, and the things that came out as a result of investigating, and some of the things that were done to solve the issues.

He discusses some issues in leadership, and the styles of people, and even the weaknesses of some leaders.  Some of the case studies involve pastors being hired as a last resort before a church closes.  Does that new pastor commit to lead through the tough, or does he too leave?

McIntosh puts tremendous focus on letting God lead the church, and for those called to lead it, to seek God’s direction for it.   The church is supernatural, and has to be in that power to move forward.

He talks about the morale of people in a failing ministry.  He addresses some of the people issues.  He speaks about the resistance to change that can come, but he also helps with some of the practical ways of keeping going, as well as finding breakthrough.

It’s sad that a book like this has to be written, but the sad truth is that there are ministries that need help like this, and it is also good that this book was written for them.

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Baker Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group
.

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Father Hunger: Why God Calls Men to Love and Lead Their Families

It is encouraging to see so many books coming out about this topic, or maybe as a young father of three, I just find them all.  “Father Hunger” by Douglas Wilson is a fresh look at this topic, using modern research to show how the Bible was right about how the family unit should work from the beginning.

This book touches on all the major issues going against the role of the father in the family, and over the years there has been a huge attack on the father from culture…. Maybe that is linked to how people perceive their father, and how that usually links to how they see their heavenly father. 

Wilson addresses, the absent father, what masculinity should look like and the twisted view of how it DOES look in culture.  He touches on atheism and the links to how aggressive atheism can be linked to anger with God based on relationship with the earthly father.  He addresses the role of leader in the home, poverty and crime and their impact on others.

The most disturbing section, I think, is the number of men in churches being on a decline, and in MANY cases, just falling off the chart.  This is such a disturbing trend, and one that real men would change if they truly, TRULY understood accountability for their actions, and the role they have been given as fathers.

This is a great book on the topic, and one that I highly recommend to fathers of all ages that want what God wants for their house.  Step up men, and be the father you are called to be.

This book was provided to me by Booksneeze for my review.  I am free to give an honest opinion in this review.

Thursday, July 26, 2012

The Gifted - Ann H. Gabhart

"Jessamine Brady has been in the Shaker Village for half her young life, but in spite of how she loves her sisters there, she struggles to conform to the strict rules. Instead she entertains dreams of the world outside. When Tristan Cooper seems to step out of those dreams to entice her into the forbidden realm beyond the Shaker Village, her life turns upside down.  Will Jessamine be able to survive the storms of the world? Or will she retreat back to the peace of Harmony Hill?"

This was my first foray into fiction involving the Shaker  movement.  While some of their beliefs baffled me, I can appreciate the desire for the simple things.  I enjoyed reading this book.  I loved the little journal entries that would be inserted every now and then by Sister Sophrena.  It added another dimension to the story telling.  This book is one that I would recommend as a good one for packing in the bag to read at the beach or camping.  I'll have to go back and check out the other Shaker books written by Ann H. Gabhart!!!

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group


Inescapable - Nancy Mehl

"Lizzie Engel is used to running away. At eighteen, she left her Mennonite hometown, Kingdom, Kansas, with plans never to return. But five years later, the new life she built is falling apart. Lizzie knows she's being followed, and she's certain the same mysterious stranger is behind the threatening letters she's received. Realizing she'll have to run again, the only escape Lizzie can manage is a return to the last place she wants to go. Once she arrives in Kingdom, Lizzie is confident she'll be safe until she comes up with a new plan. In reacquainting herself with the town and its people--especially her old friend, Noah Housler--she wonders if she judged her hometown and her Mennonite faith too harshly. However, just as she begins to come to terms with her roots, Lizzie is horrified to discover the danger she ran from is closer than ever.  No longer sure who to trust and fearful for her life and the lives of those around her, Lizzie finds she has only one place left to run--to the Father whose love is inescapable."

I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  I love Amish fiction and I also love suspense as well.  This book takes both of those and rolls them into one amazing read!  It grabs you within the first few pages.  Lizzie is one tough cookie who has had alot to deal with.  Having left her Mennonite community years earlier to escape criticism and rejection, Lizzie is forced to return and hide once she begins to receive mysterious letters threatening her.  Lizzie is quite jaded towards those in her old community, but is quickly taken in by a kindly woman.  This book is definitely a great read!! Anxiously awaiting the second book early next year!! (And frankly it can't come soon enough!!)

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group

When Hope Blossoms - Kim Vogel Sawyer

"Amy Knackstedt hopes a new start in Weaverly, Kansas, will help heal the pain of losing her husband and provide a better future for her three children. But her new neighbor, Tim Roper, is not pleased to have an Old Order Mennonite family living next to his apple orchard. Tim left the Mennonite faith years ago and doesn't want any reminders of his former life. Yet when circumstances throw Amy and Tim together, they form a friendship that surprises them both. Will past hurts always be a barrier between them, or will this tentative relationship blossom into something more?"  (Publisher's description)

I was tearing up at points with the struggles of life and loss that each of the main characters goes through.  Kim Vogel Sawyer has written a beautifully woven story from beginning to end.  It is a picture of two different ways of dealing with personal loss.  Tim tries to deal with it on his own and only ends up isolating himself and running from any emotion or attachment.  Amy deals with it by embracing her faith in God and putting her trust in Him.  That's not to say she doesn't have her struggles either though.  The ending is completely satisfying and enjoyable.  I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend it!

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Redeeming Church Conflicts - Review By: Jason

Redeeming Church Conflict By Tara Klena Barthel and David V. Edling
It’s sad that such a book exists.  In a group of people that come together in the name of love and family, there are bound to be conflicts.  The Church of Jesus is filled with people, and people choose to become followers of Jesus.  Sometimes those same people lose track of that one they are following.  If over time (because these things rarely happen in an instant) someone becomes hurt or angry for whatever reason in the church, it can lead to conflict… between members of a church… between a church and its pastor… between pastors of different churches.
Barthel and Edling work as mediators in church disputes.  They are hired to help a church work through a conflict.  Usually when they come, it would seem, things are quite a mess.  But with experience, and training, and strong biblical focus they are able to help in many cases.
The scriptural focus of this book is Acts chapter 15 where there is a conflict in the first century church.  They draw on this passage (and many others) to give good, sound advice from God’s perspective.
Conflict in the church is a reality.  As long as people struggle with their flesh there will be the conflict.  I find it interesting that one of the main ideas that these mediators bring into a situation is that in all things the parties in conflict should focus on the eternal, and not on winning the conflict.  When people’s own interests become their focus conflict rises.  When people focus on the health of the church, this perspective allows for solving the conflict.
This book is a very practical text.  It is focused around case studies from their experience.  Some were successful, while others were not.  Discussion questions accompany each chapter of the book.  The reader could easily take this book, and use it as a guide to help in their own situation.  An interesting read.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Baker Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Relentless Pursuit: God’s Love of Outsiders Including the Outsider in All of Us

This is a very thoughtful and challenging book by Ken Gire.  As someone that has been in the church for a long time, I think the thrust of this book is that God is chasing us... relentlessly!  Have you heard this phrase?  “They are on their spiritual journey in their search for God.”  To an extent, that is true, but if you look at Scripture, you see that God is the one pursuing us... wooing us... refining us through our experiences.  Like the Good Shepherd, he will leave the 99 to go after the one.  God loves us... no matter what.

Gire also discusses the outsider.  It is the person that knows rejection and hurt from those that do not show love.  He goes through some of the obvious aspects from the bible, but he also expands the idea to include those that are not accepted today.  He describes his own battle with ADHD, and the challenges that go with that, even in his life today.  Most importantly, he shows how we all have those areas of insecurity in us.  We have those places where we don’t want others to see.... Jesus loves us even in those places.

I have found several quotable quotes that I used as Facebook statuses to make some friends think and consider.  Each chapter begins with a biblical quote, and a quotation from a notable person.  Each chapter ends with discussion questions. The book as a whole also draws heavily on the poem "The Hound of Heaven" written by a man that ran from God, but that God pursued like a hound.

I think this book is an excellent to shift from the modern perspective of the Gospel of us searching for God into realizing that God is pursuing us... every part of us.

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group

Sunday, July 8, 2012

NLT The Way Bible

The Way (A Bible using the New Living Translation)
I remember this bible from when I was young.  I am pleased to see that they are adapting its flavour to the modern reader.  I am writing my review from an advanced readers copy.  There may be minor changes to the version that you buy.

The Way has become known for its edgy photos, its cutting edge testimonials, and its relevance to the culture.  Of course, the Bible itself is always relevant, but when it comes to study bibles there is a purpose to how it frames the scriptures. 

Originally, The Way used the Living Bible (a paraphrase).  This version uses the more reliable New Living Translation (note that it is a translation). 

Within the pages of this Bible some study aids for the reader have been inserted.  Each book of the Bible has an introductory section to set up the purpose of the book, and to show how it is relevant to the modern reader.

There are contributions from writers in different parts of the Christian world, some well known, some just everyday Joe and Josephine.  

“Living in the Way” is a writing section that is inserted that describes an aspect of the human element in a particular biblical story.  It draws the reader in and shows how people and human nature has not really changed in thousands of years, and that we all are still in the struggle of right and wrong.

“Lament” seems to be a section to clarify something about a story.  Anyone that has read the Bible knows that there are places where you can get confused.  These passages sort of frame an issue and then explain the theology in modern language.

This Bible has some QR code squares within its pages.  They link to many of the different articles and writings.  I found them to be hard to use.  The camera on my phone could not focus on the squares because they were too small.  I tried two different apps to test them.  I hope this is changed for the official printing.

Overall, this is a great Bible.  I think I would recommend this to the older teen, or the young adult.  Welcome back, “The Way”.

Advanced Reader's Copy of the Bible has been provided courtesy of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. 




Friday, July 6, 2012

Short-Straw Bride - Karen Witemeyer

"No one steps on Archer land. Not if they value their life. But when Meredith Hayes overhears a plot to burn the Archer brothers off their ranch, a long-standing debt compels her to take the risk.  Years of constant vigilance hardens a man. Yet when Travis Archer comes across a female trespasser with the same vivid blue eyes as the courageous young girl he once aided, he can't bring himself to send her away. And when an act of sacrifice leaves her injured and her reputation in shreds, gratitude and guilt prompt him to attempt to rescue her once again.  Despite the fact that Travis is no longer the gallant youth Meredith once dreamed about, she vows to stand by his side. But will love ever be hers? Or will Travis always see her as merely a short-straw bride?" (Publisher's Description)

This is my first time reading a book by Karen Witemeyer and let me tell you it won't be my last.  The  novel had me hooked from the prologue.  I loved the fieriness of Meredith and the protective nature of Travis.  It had me laughing out loud at quiet a few points.  I enjoyed the dance that was their courtship.  The devotion that Travis had for his brothers and for Meredith played into many of his decisions, good and bad.  The supporting characters of the rest of the archer clan just rounded out the book beautifully.  I would love to see more stories about the Archers, especially Crockett.  This book is an excellent read for sitting out on the lounger in the backyard (where no one will look at you funny for laughing out loud!)

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Love in Disguise - Carol Cox

Ellie Moore is a women full of spunk and ingenuity.  Having lost her job working as the personal assistant to an actress, Ellie happens upon a job opening with the Pinkerton Detective Agency.  Her abilities to complete transform herself into someone else win over the reluctant agents.  She travels to Arizona disguised as Lavina Stewart, a middle-aged widow to investigate missing shipments of silver from the local mines.  Soon after arriving she realizes she must also create another persona.  Lavina's spunky niece Jessie soon appears.  Mine owner Steven Pierce soon becomes entangled in Ellie's two different characters and Ellie's own heart.  When the thieves start to attack Lavina and Jessie, will Ellie be able to solve the case before they become successful? Or before she loses her heart to Steven?

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.  I loved the two completely different characters that Ellie makes for herself.  They are each completely different, but at the same time also each make up a part of who Ellie is.  This is a wonderful read and I highly recommend it to everyone looking for a good mystery to pack along on summer vacation.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Touching the Sky - Tracie Peterson

"When Laura Marquardt first meets Brandon Reid, their encounter is anything but pleasant. But when the two are seated together at a dinner party, they soon find that they share similar interests--Laura desires to educate blacks, and Brandon, as a white officer over colored troops, eagerly supports her cause. When Laura's sister, Carissa, marries her Confederate beau, Laura finds herself in a difficult situation when she overhears plots to kill Union soldiers. Though in her heart she feels she should share this information with Brandon, Laura fears she will betray her sister's trust and possibly endanger her sister's life. And when Brandon's motives for pursuing her come into question, her heart is even more conflicted. Where is God leading her?" (Publisher's description)

I was very excited to review the second novel in Tracie Peterson's Land of the Lone Star series.  This novel was very hard to put down.  Tracie Peterson made me feel like I was back in post-Civil War Texas.  The decisions that Laura had to make, the choice between family loyalty and the developing feelings for Captain Reid were wrenching.  The beauty of God's grace in every situation was woven beautifully throughout the story.  I eagerly await book three in the fall!

 "Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

The Last Sacrifice - Hank Hanegraaff & Sigmund Brouwer

"Helius, Nero’s most trusted adviser, anticipates the death of his sworn enemy, the legendary warrior Gallus Sergius Vitas, scheduled to die a gruesome death in the arena. However, the badly beaten man who appears in the amphitheater is not who he seems. Rescued by a stranger and given a mysterious scroll, Vitas is told he must decipher this letter to find the answers he needs—a letter that Helius is also determined to decipher and to keep hidden from Nero. As Nero’s reign of terror grows, so does his circle of enemies."  (Publisher's Description)

I bought this book at a local christian book store after reading the first book, The Last Disciple.  It picks up right where the previous book leaves off.  As with the first novel I again found this book hard to put down.  It is a gripping read of Roman rule under Nero and the persecutions that first century Christians endured.  Nero was a very evil man, and to read what the believers of that day endured made my cry and give me goosebumps.  I would recommend this to those that like biblical fiction.  I am anxiously waiting the final book in the trilogy!!!

The Last Disciple - Hank Hanegraaff & Sigmund Brouwer

"First-century Rome is a perilous city as Nero stalks the political circles and huddled groups of believers. To be safe, Christians must remain invisible.  Gallus Sergius Vitas is the only man within Nero’s trusted circle willing to do what it takes to keep the empire together. He struggles to lessen Nero’s monstrosities against the people of Rome—especially the Christians. But as three Greek letters are scrawled as graffiti throughout the city, Nero’s anger grows.  As the early church begins to experience the turbulence Christ prophesied as the beginning of the last days, an enemy seeks to find John’s letter, Revelation, and destroy it. Meanwhile the early Christians must decipher it and cling to the hope it provides as they face the greatest of all persecutions." (Publisher's Description)

I bought this book on a whim because it was in the clearance section at the local christian book store and loved it so much I went back and got the second book as well.  The Last Disciple takes place during the Roman Empire and the rule of Nero.  A time when first century Christians were hunted down for their faith and sent to the arena as public entertainment.  I found it very hard to put the book down especially when reading of the scenes in the arena.  The faith of those sent to the lions because of the gospel gave me goosebumps.  Without giving too much away, I will say there is a scene in the end that brought me to tears.  A true example of laying down ones life for another.  The novel ends with a few unanswered questions that made me glad I had rushed back and bought the second book.  I highly recommend this book to any one who enjoys historical fiction.

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

NIV Faith Girlz! Bible

Let’s face it, boys and girls learn things in different ways, and this Bible puts the emphasis on how girls learn.  It uses the standard NIV for the Scriptural text, so I won’t be commenting very much on that, other than to say that it is a very popular English translation of the Bible, and it is very easy to read, and is appropriate to the age being aimed at for this Bible... the tween girl.

Bibles by theme like this are all about the additional notes.  The ones added here are perfect for a young woman in her tweens (9 to 12).

There are notes called “Dream Girl” that plays on the imagination, and asks questions to try to get girls to think about what something in Bible time would have been like.  It goes through a story, and puts it in modern novel-like structure.

“Bring It On!” is a kind of self examination quiz.  It asks a question about how the girl would behave in a certain situation and gives them three possible answers.  Then on the next page, based on the answer they chose there is a scripture reference to look up to guide them in that choice.

“Oh, I Get It!” is a set of notes that expands on items in the text and uses modern biblical scholarship.

Each book of the bible has in introduction.  This kind of thing is pretty much standard in bibles today.  They contain a  who wrote the book, when it was written, where it takes place, the main characters (Cool Characters), Bad guys to watch for, the main point of the book, and how it connects to the rest of the bible.  This kind of thing is really important for studying the Bible.

“Treasure This!” suggests certain verses that would be good for memory.

Part of the Bible is that we can identify with some of the characters, and either learn from their mistakes, or follow after their successes.  “Is There a Little (Insert Character Name) in You?”  These are little summaries of some of the people throughout the Bible, with some key traits from their life.

“In Your Own Words” is a way for a girl to test her understanding of a Bible.  Basically, she would read the story, and then choose three words to summarize it so that she could tell it to someone else later.

The layout and composition of this bible is all done in pinks and flowers and flourishes.  I did find it interesting to read some of the more serious subtitles that the NIV has, be written in pink.  Truth be told, other than the lack of appeal to a boy reader because of all the pink, a boy or a girl could learn a lot from all of the notes.

This is definitely a bible for the tween girl today, and I recommend it for anyone looking for a bible for study for the young tween lady in their life.

I was provided a complimentary copy of this bible by B & B Media Group for my review.  I was free to review it as I saw it.

Monday, June 4, 2012

The NIV Boys Bible

I’m coming at this as a father of three kids, and as someone that works with the 9 to 12 year olds in my church.  This Bible is right where I am in my life right now.  And this Bible is a real eye-catcher.  The translation chosen is the New International Version, which I believe is still the most loved, and most popular English version of the Bible.  The cover they have chosen looks like the metal used for deck plates on ships and on steps on heavy trucks.  Very Boy.  It’s a great choice for a boy Bible.

I love this kind of Bible.  There is so much depth to Scripture, but as young men are beginning to think about right and wrong and their spirit it is a great idea to present the Gospel and all of the story of the Bible, but also highlight some things that a young man would find interesting, or just plain fun.  Here are some of the sections that this Bible uses:

Each book of the Bible has an introductory page.  It puts the book into a historical context, tells us who the author is (when known), and spells out all the main people in the book.

There are inserted panels that ask the question that I had when I was the target age.  So “What’s the Big Deal”?  That is really something that people of all ages or stages in their walk wonder.  These panels help to spell out a bit of culture, context and characters and just point the reader in the right direction.

“Makin’ it Real” panels are SO important.  So many people think that the Bible is just an old book, but really it is something that applies to people today... now more than ever.  These insert panels help people be able to apply the Bible to their lives today.

The “Check It Out” inserts bring to light an important verse, or a interesting facts and trivia from the Bible.  It’s stuff that is there in the text for the most part, but the panel draws it out with a bit more explanation.

This was my favourite of the insert panels, and it is something that really makes this a Bible for boys.  The “grossology” panels grab those items that boys would love to know about... gross-out stuff from the Bible.

I was really impressed with this Bible, and I think that for the tween boy, this is an excellent selection!

I was provided a complimentary copy of this bible by B & B Media Groups for my review.  I was not required to give a positive review.

Friday, June 1, 2012

Flame Of Resistance - Tracy Groot

Publisher's description: "Years of Nazi occupation have stolen much from Brigitte Durand. Family. Freedom. Hope for a future, especially for a woman with a past like hers. But that changes the day American fighter pilot Tom Jaeger is shot down over occupied France. Picked up by the Resistance, Tom becomes the linchpin in their plan to infiltrate a Germans-only brothel and get critical intel out through Brigitte, a prostitute rumored to be sympathetic to the Allied cause.
D-day looms and everyone knows that invasion is imminent. But so is treachery, and the life of one American pilot unexpectedly jeopardizes everything. He becomes more important than the mission to a man who cannot bear to lose another agent and to a woman who is more than just a prostitute, who finally realizes that her actions could change the course of history."

I was very excited to review this novel.  One of my favorite time periods is WWII, and Tracy Groot did not disappoint.  The characters have great depth and the story is full of intrigue and suspense.  Once I got the characters code names down (some have more than one) the book was hard to put down.  The choices that Brigitte has had to make to survive are heart wrenching.  I loved the parallels between Brigitte and the biblical Rahab.  I highly recommend this book!!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Everybody's Daughter - Michael John Sullivan

"What if you had a chance to ask a loved one for forgiveness – after they died? What would you say? Would you give up your own lifetime of happiness for someone else? Michael Stewart confronts these questions as he travels back in time through a mysterious tunnel in an old church when the Romans ruled with brutal violence and Jesus preached his peaceful message. His teenage daughter Elizabeth soon follows Michael, but is surprised to discover that her father is nowhere to be found.  Little does she know that Michael has returned safely to the present, leaving her to battle a vicious Roman soldier. Separated by centuries, Michael is trapped to fight his own battles in the present day.  Elizabeth’s disappearance, and the discovery of her blood in his car ignites a rush of judgment as the FBI focuses on him as a person of interest. Michael’s only hope for saving his daughter rests in the hands of his best friend – a local pastor with secrets of his own – and a mysterious old journal containing tales of miracles within the walls of the old church itself. Thrilling and suspenseful, Everybody's Daughter takes readers on a miraculous journey of their own, where salvation can be found in acts of sacrifice and hope remains forever eternal through the passage of a tunnel."

This is a wonderfully written book.  I did not know that this was the second book in the series.  I was a little lost at points, but the author does a fairly good job of filling in the back story from the previous book so that I could understand what was going on.  I loved reading the sections where Michael and his daughter Elizabeth are back in biblical times.  I felt like I was right there with them.  It will be interesting to see how the story ends up in the final novel of the trilogy.

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book by the B&B Media Group in exchange for my fair and honest review

Submerged - Dani Pettrey

Bailey Craig left the small town of Yancey Alaska to escape a sordid past and vowed never to return.  When her beloved aunt dies in a plane crash, Bailey is forced to return and settle the estate.  Determined not to stay a moment longer than necessary, she does what she can to avoid seeing people in the town, including the one person she hurt the most, Cole McKenna.  But when two deep sea water divers turn up dead, and questions begin to arise about her aunt's trip to Russia, Bailey's expertise in Russian history become invaluable to the investigation.  Will Bailey & Cole be able to find the murderer in time, or will they become one of his victims?

Submerged is a fast paced, action packed adventure.  Dani Pettrey weaves a wonderful story full of mystery and suspense, that grabs you from the opening chapter and doesn't let up.  It was very hard to put this novel down!  I found it very hard to believe that this is Mrs. Pettrey's first novel.  The theme of God's redemption and forgiveness is woven so seamlessly throughout the novel.  Bailey is a woman with a rather sordid past who has been unable to truly forgive herself and move on.  Cole carries guilt about how he treated Bailey when she needed him the most.  I loved reading about the different members of Cole's family and look forward to her exploring these characters in future novels.  I highly recommend this book to any lover of a good mystery. You won't be disappointed!  I eagerly await the next book in this series!

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group

Thursday, May 31, 2012

Unstuck

Unstuck by Arnie Cole & Michael Ross
Review by Jason Rivers

This book is like a text book for people that know there is a problem in their walk with God, and they don’t quite know how to fix it.  Do you ever get that feeling, like you were going along well with God and something happens, or doesn’t have, and then you just feel stuck?  It’s like you jumped into a big bowl of honey and no matter what you do you can’t get out.  I know I have been there.  Somehow, by the grace of God, I got going again.

This book goes through some very practical things you can do to try to dislodge yourself from the honey (my analogy, not theirs).  It is written with two voices, and when it is one of the authors or the other they identify themselves so you can hear both of their stories.

As with most text books, sometimes the blatantly obvious is suggested, but when you see it defined it just makes sense, and you can take it and apply it. 

My caution with this kind of book is that it might be almost too practical, even formulaic.  It is not the formula that works, but the relationship with God.  Two people can read the Bible, and one can grow to hate God more, while the other can find him there waiting for them.  Many of the issues involved here are ones that must be done with the open heart of the believer.

I really love this book, and I intend to go back and look at it with more detail, but whet your appetite, here are some of the things that “Unstuck” suggests:

The book has these inserted paragraphs labelled “commitment” which is something that you are the reader should commit to do.  One of the first ones in the book is about how we need to stop passively reading the Bible and engage with it.  Having a Bible or knowing about the Bible is one thing, but having a relationship of faith and trust with the God of the Bible is quite another thing.

It has these “encouraging nudges” that are a portion of Scripture that you can practically apply to your life.  It also has some recent research that it shares throughout the book to reinforce whatever point is being presented with something from current culture.

Lastly, the book is set up like a devotional.  Issues of faith are rarely solved quickly, so this takes some time to go through and address many potential issues.

Definitely get this book!

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.  Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.